jump to navigation

Almost half way… October 1, 2006

Posted by Woody in Uncategorized.
trackback

As I near the half way marker of the my marathon training I am incorporating more then just “running” into the training.  The training includes a constant need to utilize self-talk to get through not only the long runs but when I find myself feeling pain or discomfort during short runs.  After completing this past week’s long run of eleven miles and thinking to myself that I am almost half marathon!

I wanted to take a moment to quote Tanjala Mabon Kole, author of The Non-Runner’s Marathon Trainer.  “Training for and running a marathon is not a single event, rather, it is an experience. It is a discovery of self that will forever change your perceptions, perspectives, priorities, and possibilities. You will meet yourself at what you thought were the boundaries of your potential and endurance and watch in awe as they evaporate to reveal only open expanse. To know that the only boundaries in life are those in which we create ourselves is a discovery which can not be taught – it must be experienced. For once you have seen the view from the mountain top, living a life of voluntary blindness is no longer an option.”

Although I have not completed the marathon yet I do not think there is a better way to word this experience.  Training for a marathon takes time. Time we all feel we don’t have enough of to begin with yet I have to find a way to make sure I have time to run the runs four times a week. 

 As I look forward to my next run, I think about how it will feel. I run a movie through my mind of how the run should go. Long strides, breathing in rhythm, enjoying the run, head held high.  I am a marathoner. I am doing this.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

