jump to navigation

The elucubrations of life October 23, 2006

Posted by Woody in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’ve been meaning to get to this post all weekend. It is the elucubrations of life that keeps us going and drags us down all at the same time. I asked myself a few times this week if I have bitten off more then I can chew.

The “to do” list is long. In the past four months I have quit smoking, accepted a position with a new company (after 11 years), ongoing preparation for the arrival of our baby girl (to be named Payton) in January, dealing with pregnancy difficulties (although not to the extent that my wife is dealing with them, she feels the pains etc, I worry and watch), set myself up with the challenge to train for and complete a marathon, to include side projects, decoration of a couple bedrooms and bath rooms to get the girls switched around a bit for the baby’s arrival, building a shed (as soon as I get around to getting the permit, again something I have to squeeze in the time for), and of course work, small group at church, and trying to find time for the most important pieces, being a daddy and husband. Ya might think damn why don’t you throw something more on there. Sure, the holidays and unforeseen expenses. BTW I commute 2.5 hours a day. DUDE! What am I doing!

Good news is, one bedroom is complete, and the oldest has moved into it. Now I can start on the baby’s room. Which is projected to be completed this week. If that occurs I can then start bathroom 1 the following week.

Not getting off subject, but to discuss the elucubrations of others, I have ache in my heart for some dear friends and old co-workers at my prior company who are facing layoff. We all saw the writing on the walls, I acted upon it and took the leap to keep my career moving in a forward direction. Now some people close to me are facing the guillotine. Most of these people I have had more then a working relationship with but a solid friendship for several years. I wish I was in a position to hire them all. So many names that I come to mind as dedicated, motivated people who want more out of their career then a paycheck. To you folks facing layoff, part of me wants to slap you for looking for employment during the holiday season, however, my heart goes out to you and the stresses you and your family feel in this hard time. I will pray for you all.

Comments»

1. Terry - October 23, 2006

Dude..no stress…I told ya..I’m going to flip burgers 🙂 Former TTT

2. Robin - October 23, 2006

Elucubration…… wtf? Where do you find the words you use? And dont tell me the dictionary… I couldnt find it there. So for us dumb folk, please translate!

3. Woody - October 23, 2006

e‧lu‧cu‧brate  /ɪˈlukyʊˌbreɪt/ Pronunciation Key – Show Spelled Pronunciation[i-loo-kyoo-breyt] Pronunciation Key – Show IPA Pronunciation
–verb (used with object), -brat‧ed, -brat‧ing.
to produce (esp. literary work) by long and intensive effort.

—Related forms
e‧lu‧cu‧bra‧tion, noun


Leave a Reply

