jump to navigation

Silent Running October 28, 2006

Posted by Woody in Uncategorized.
trackback

When I left the house this morning it was 32 degrees (26 in the windchill), I thought to myself how this was going to be the coldest day I have ever ran in, and it was. Today, however, was the best run I think I have ever experienced. The accomplishment pieces; completing 250 cumulative miles since my training began, exceeding 35 miles this week, 16 miles, and not that I am counting but 116 days smoke free.
The pieces of today’s experience is not what made it the best run I have experienced. What set today apart from the rest was my setting aside self for today. Most of my running thus far has included concentration on breathing, concern for what’s going on around me (a busy path), what my heart rate is at, what my time is looking like. Try as I may I never really let these things go during the run before today. Today, I just ran. Ran for the pleasure of enjoying this beautiful city we live in. I really didn’t realize how beautiful this place is. Not until I opened my eyes, ears and closed my mind to the thoughts that plague us all, distractions of our “to do” list, work left unfinished at work, bills we have to pay, just to name a few. I am not sure why today is different, but, finally, I was able to let everything else go and just run, run and enjoy this beautiful place God created. Maybe it was because I took a slightly different path. This one not full of traffic, this path, quiet. I ran for enjoyment, I ran silent.

Fog rising from the river
Smoke flowing from a chimney
The sun breaking the crest of the sandia mountains
Balloons gathered together, the volcanos in the backdrop
Ducks in a perfect V flying south

To name just a few of the things I would have missed had I not listened. I hope that on my next long run I can let go and listen again.

Silent Running…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

